are you a Geek ?

Steve Clayton posted a link to MSN’s Geek test which frankly IMO doesn’t go anywhere near far enough :) and  as Chris Parkes says is too outlandish in some cases – spell my name in Elvish or speak Klingon indeed.

I’d thought about a post along these lines but understood that I’m an unterGeek when I was talking with pride to a codie friend of mine about my Asterisk install and he asked how  I’d tweaked the source .

bah humbug –  I installed asterisk because I wanted to try and get an open source gateway working with Exchange 2007 UM  (there’s a list of supported tested VoIP gateways here and PABXs compatible with Exchange 2007 here) but now I’ll need to consider whether I’m up to messing around with the software enough to try and patch Asterisk to allow SIP over TCP which is what Exchange 2007 UM requires.

that sounds l33t Geek doesn’t it?

Geek is a very relative term, in the company of some I am Uber Geek in the company of others I am the unterGeek

Anyway I’d add the following questions to the test:

When sat at your main PC can you see the insides or part of the insides of any other computer without turning your head? (needs to be a yes but still OK if you have to turn your head a little)

(if you don’t have to differentiate between your computers or you don’t have computerS don’t bother reading on)

How many operating systems could you have running at once ? (yes of course virtual machines do count, extra points if the base OS ends in an x)

Have you spent a small fortune in the last  12 months on gadgets to perform a particular task, mainly or only because they are gadgets when you had barely spent £35 on non gadget examples in the last 12 years? (think cameras)

Do you have any mementos of your 1st computer secreted around the house? ( I’ve got my original ZX81 somewhere and the BIOS chip and processor of my first IBM compatible)

have you set your own wireless network up and at least one other family members and maybe a friends? (of course) (extra credits if you’ve ever fixed a strangers Internet connection when logging on through an unsecured wireless link, accidentally of course)

Do you buy CDs anymore and do you have an opinion on DRM?

that’ll do for now – more on the Asterisk and Exchange 2007 unified messaging shenanigans later

in the meantime any additions ? anyone? anyone?

3 Responses to are you a Geek ?

  1. time to build an alternative – or additional – list of questions me thinks :)

  2. alasdair says:

    certainly possible Steve, I bet there’e one or two questions per Geek or Geekette out there, I’d offer a prize for the most obscure however
    i) I don’t have a prize :o
    ii) I think I’d get very intimidated very quickly if I threw down that particular gauntlet

  3. […] alluded before about my dabbling with Asterisk as an open source SIP PBX and how I hadn’t mustered […]

Leave a Reply

