Back intact and bear free

Canadian jaunt turned into a very rewarding Canadian Trial

I’m Back from Algonquin provincial park – still a little jet lagged about 10000 kcal down in the week not lost any weight but converted about 16 lbs from fat to muscle. feeling very refreshed revived and ready for anything.

top tips and observations:

Do not let a man with a hangover be responsible for buying your food for a canoe trip.

Do not underestimate mother nature she is very unforgiving

Sometimes a walk in the park is decidedly not a walk in the park.

do not fall for the skin so soft myth – the Algonquin biting insects just don’t notice it

Bears do sh*t in the woods :) and just because you don’t see them it doesn’t mean they aren’t there.

Moose are BIG

honestly I loved it but it was damn hard – no film crew around the corner for us and we had a few hairy moments.  

I feel pretty  invulnerable at the moment  even though it’s the most physically demanding thing I have done in my life my body is suffering and I’m somewhat exhausted.

Apologies to the lovely couple who had to put up with my stench of bog water for 6 hours on the way home I had no idea until I got back to my own house.

expect normal service to be resumed shortly

Technorati Tags: , , ,
2 Responses to Back intact and bear free

  1. Michael Slavitch says:

    My goodness, you were in my neck of the woods! My family spent three weeks at a rustic cottage on Aylen Lake, which borders the park. No electricity, no indoor plumbing, wolves and bears.

  2. alasdairford says:

    hi Mike, you can see a photoset at:

    lunch day 2

    tbh it was 10 townies way out of their depth in the canadian hinterland not even wild wilderness for you guys but way wild enough for us.

    no bears (apart from skat) but moose and beavers and some fantastic scenery

Leave a Reply

